Govt expands access to vehicle registration number plates

Staff Reporter

In a significant move to streamline vehicle registration processes, the Government through the Ministry of Transport and Infrastructural Development, has announced the full decentralisation of the issuance of vehicle registration number plates.

This new initiative, detailed in a public notice issued on November 15 by Pedzisayi Joy Makumbe, the Secretary for Transport and Infrastructural Development, aims to make these services more accessible to motorists across the nation.

The Government's decision comes in response to the increasing number of vehicles on Zimbabwe’s roads lacking proper registration plates.

"It is an offence to drive an unregistered or unlicensed vehicle. To ensure comprehensive accessibility, the Ministry has decentralised the issuance of vehicle registration number plates. With local production ensuring adequate stock, motorists are encouraged to acquire their number plates from any of the 42 agent offices nationwide,” the notice emphasised.

These agent offices, located in various regions, including Harare, Manicaland, and Masvingo, are situated in ZimPost designations and Zimra offices.

Makumbe stated, “Clients can now access vehicle registration services at any of these nationwide offices, enhancing convenience and compliance.”

The Ministry also detailed the specific locations where motorists can obtain registration plates.

In Harare, for instance, ZimPost offices at Harare Main, Mt. Pleasant, Graniteside, Causeway, Southerton, and Chitungwiza are operational.

Similar setups are available in Manicaland at Chipinge, Nyanga, Chimanimani, Mutare, and Rusape ZimPost offices, among others.

Furthermore, in the Midlands, number plates are accessible at Zvishavane, Gokwe, Kwekwe, and Gweru ZimPost Offices.

In Mash West, Kadoma, Kariba, and Chinhoyi ZimPost offices have been identified as points of access.

Zimra offices across the country, including Harare Customs House, Mutare Customs House, Masvingo Customs House, Gweru Customs House, Plumtree Border Post, Beitbridge Border Post, Victoria Falls Customs House, and Bulawayo Customs House, have also been designated as points for acquiring number plates.

In a bid to maintain order and ensure compliance with vehicle registration laws, the Government has warned that all vehicles without registration number plates will be subjected to immediate clamp down.

This move underscores the Government's commitment to enforcing traffic regulations and enhancing road safety across the country.