President re-assures the world on violence inquiry

by Bernard Mutambudzi

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has assured the world that Zimbabwe would leave no stone unturned to find out what happened on 1 August this year, in which six lives were lost.

Addressing the 73rd United Nations General Assembly session, President Mnangagwa said he is deeply saddened by the events of 1 August 2018

“The isolated and unfortunate incident of the post-election violence that occurred on 1 August 2018 is regrettable and most unacceptable”.


Hence, President Mnangagwa told the gathering that he had appointed a competent commission made up of local, regional and international members to inquire into the post-election violence.

Below are some of the tasks and functions the seven member Commission has been mandated with;

  • To identify the actors and their leaders, their motive and strategies employed in the protests.
  • To inquire into the intervention by the Zimbabwe Republic Police in the maintenance of law and order;
  • The Commission would investigate the circumstances which led to the involvement of the military in assisting in the maintenance of law and order.
  • To consider whether the degree of force used was appropriate to the ensuing threat to public safety, law and order.
  • The Commission has to ascertain extent of damage/injury caused by the protesters.
  • To investigate any other matters which the Commission of Inquiry may deem appropriate and relevant to the inquiry.

After it had completed its investigations, the Commission will make suitable recommendations.

The following members constitute the Commission of Inquiry and have already started work.

  1. Former President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Kgalema Motlanthe;
  2. Rodney Dixon QC, United Kingdom;
  3. Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Former Commonwealth Secretary-General, Federal Republic of Nigeria;
  4. Former Chief of Defence Forces of the Tanzania People’s Defence Forces, General Davis Mwamunyange;
  5. Professor Charity Manyeruke, Political Science, University of Zimbabwe;
  6. Professor Lovemore Madhuku, Faculty of Law, University of Zimbabwe; and
  7. Mrs Vimbai Nyemba, Former President of the Law Society of Zimbabwe.