President ED announces By-Election dates

Staff Reporter

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has declared the 26th of March 2022 as the date to hold the much awaited by-elections for all constituencies that have been left vacant, following the recall, death and reassignment of Member of Parliaments.

Through the release of Statutory Instrument 2 of 2022 (SI 2 of 2022), President Mnangagwa proved that he is guided by the country’s laws and Constitution and when the health environment is conducive nothing can prevent the process of by-elections.

“Whereas in terms of section 129 (1) (k) and section 159 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, as read with section 39 (1), if the electoral Act the seats of members of Parliament….that have become vacant by reason of members of the National Assembly having ceased to belong a political party which they were members when elected to the National Assembly, by reason of the death of the members of the National Assembly and by reason of appointment of a member to another post.

“And whereas it is provided by section 39 (2) of the Electoral Act (chapter 2:13), that after the President has been notified in terms of the said section of vacancies in the membership of National Assembly, he shall issue a proclamation ordering a new election to fill the vacancies in the same manner, mutatis mutandis, as is provided in section 38 of the said Act in regard to a general election,” reads part of the proclamation.

Declaring the dates for the by-elections, the President said, “Now, therefore, under and by virtue of the powers vested in the President as afore said, I do, by this proclamation – order new elections for the vacant constituencies, and fix Wednesday the 26th day of January, 2022, as the date on which the nomination courts shall sit, commencing at 10 o’clock in the morning, fix Saturday the 26th day of March, 2022, as the day on which a poll shall be taken if a poll becomes necessary in terms of section 46(17)(c) of the Electoral Act (Chapter 2:13)”

All Provinces have been allocated different courts for purposes of receiving nominations of candidates for election as members of National Assembly constituencies.

“Magistrates Court, Court 5, Tredgold Building, for Bulawayo Province; Tredgold Building, Bulawayo for Pumula, Nkulumae, Binga North and Tsholotsho South; Magistrate Courts Rotten Row for purposes of receiving nominations of candidates for Epworth, Glen Norah, Harare Central, Highfield East, Highfield West, Kuwadzaba East, Kuwadzana, Mufakose, St Marys, Glen View North, Kambuzuma and Harare East; and Magistrate Court 102-4, Main Street Mutare, to receive nomination of candidates for Dangamvura-Chikanga and Mutasa South; and the Magistrates Court Ruzawi Road, Marondera, for purposes of receiving nominations of candidates for Marondera Central, Marondera East and Murewa South and, Magistrates Court Corner Robert Mugabe Street and Jason Moyo Avenue, Masvingo for purposes of receiving nominations from Chivi South and Mwenezi East and Magistrates Court, Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, Gweru for purposes of receiving nominations of candidates for Mkoba, Kwekwe, Mbizo, Mberengwa South and Gokwe Central,” reads the proclamation.

ZANU PF recently conducted peaceful internal Provincial elections that were a success, the President and First Secretary of the Party endorsed them during the Politburo meeting recently.  The internal elections have left ZANU PF in a stronger position to stand in the elections and win against the factional infused MDC Alliance.