President Mnangagwa humbled by Congress

Political Reporter

President Mnangagwa was humbled by the massive and thunderous endorsement to his Presidency and thanked the ZANU PF Congress for re-electing him as the Party’s President once again.

Giving his closing remarks at the ZANU PF 7th National people’s Congress in the capital yesterday,Pressident Mnangagwa expressed gratitude to the Party for again nominating him to be the Party’s sole Presidential candidate in the forthcoming elections.

“Comrade Delegates, I once again express my profound gratitude for electing me as the President and First Secretary of our Party, ZANU PF, as well as your nomination for me to stand as the party’s sole Presidential candidate in the 2023 Harmonised General Elections. Let us continue to walk together for the continued dominance of our party and a better quality of life for our people,” said the President.

The President said that all Party members could not be called to serve in leadership positions at once as only a few are chosen at any given time.

“At any one time, there are a few who are called upon to serve in leadership positions. I, therefore, thank the outgoing members of the Central Committee and Politburo for serving at that level,” said the President.

President Mnangagwa further thanked Congress for electing members of the Central Committee and congratulated the few Politburo members he appointed yesterday.

“I congratulate party structures for electing members of the Central Committee, which is the highest decision-making body of the party in-between Congresses. I also congratulate the newly appointed Politburo,” said the President.

The President yesterday announced an unchanged Presidium with Cdes Constantino Chiwenga and Kembo Mohadi returning their positions as the Party’s deputy presidents and Second Secretaries.

Cde Oppah Muchinguri was returned as the National Chairperson while Cde Obert Mpofu retained his post as the Party’s Secretary for Administration.

President Mnangagwa yesterday only appointed few Politburo members that include Cde Mike Bimha (National Political Commissar), Cde Patrick Chinamasa (Secretary for Finance) and Comrade Lovemore Matuke (Secretary for Security).

Meanwhile, President Mnangagwa yesterday appointed 10 more Central Committee members as directed by the Party’s Constitution. The ten appointed Central Committee members are Cde William Khumbula (Former ZANU NDONGA president), Cde Tongora (wife of the late General), Cde Zenzo Simbi, Cde Madanha, Cde Chirongoma, Cde Fundira, Cde Veronica Mnkuli, Cde Miriam Chikukwa, Cde Paul Mangwana and Cde Abednego Ncube.